Controlling your Circumstances


English: Christ is tempted by Satan. The engra...

English: Christ is tempted by Satan. The engraved drawing was by Jacob de Wit after Peter Paul Rubens. 1711-12. School: Dutch. This print is from a group of 36 drawings after Peter Paul Rubens’ ceiling panels in the Jesuit Church, Antwerp, for engraving and publication by Jan Punt. Dimensions: height: 340 millimetres; width: 403 millimetres. http://www.archive.org/details/TheBowyerBible (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gustave Doré, Depiction of Satan, the antagoni...

Gustave Doré, Depiction of Satan, the antagonist of John Milton’s Paradise Lost c. 1866 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Today was bad,  I am having emotional breakdowns.  I have been at home for the last three months due to my lupus.   As, The world  continued around me.  I feel like I am standing still.   Am I a victim of my circumstances?  Quickly I would answer yes.  If my job was not so demanding, if my husband would just listen to me, or if my children never misbehaved my life would be perfect.

Truthfully, our circumstances do not make us who we are.   It just helps us reveal what we are.  I am a tired, grumpy mother of two little boys that find a way to always fight with my husband and I.  Oh, the differences we have with discipline.  If you have children with disabilities life is never simple.  Discipline is never the same.  God has brought these circumstances into my life to change me and to show me what I am really like.

Satan tries to convince us the only way to change is to find a different circumstance.  We feel we would be happier if our circumstances were different. Lie!

Truth is, if we are not happy in our current circumstances we won’t be happy in another place.  By convincing use our circumstances are unnecessary satan can control our resentment and anger.

I need to be content in my life.  Whether I have plenty or little.  It seems so simple.  But, it really is.  We make life harder for ourselves.  Believe God’s truth and show satan who controls your life.

9 thoughts on “Controlling your Circumstances

  1. It reminds me of some of the things Paul said…like, “I have learned in whatever situation I’m in, to be content” or “in everything give thanks”. These are difficult ideas to grapple with in the midst of hardship! My cousin struggles with lupus. I can’t imagine how difficult it must be while trying to be a wife and mother.

  2. Pingback: Quotation: John Milton on Peace Listen to “Paradise Lost” | euzicasa

Leave a Reply

